Introducing Demola Oulu

Demola Oulu is located in the heart of Oulu, at Business Kitchen, a start-up hub and a community that is operated by the universities. Demola Oulu was launched in 2012.

The seaside city of Oulu has roughly 200 000 residents. It is the fifth most populous city in the country and worldwide one of the northern largest cities. Oulu, one of the smartest cities in the world, is known for its innovative thinking. The atmosphere of the city is young, creative, and enterprising. Thus, the region has the most innovations per capita in Finland. The city is the birthplace of several wireless and bio technologies, has a vibrant startup base and is a respected city of science. In addition, it is one of Europe’s “living labs”, where residents experiment with new technologies. Companies and research and educational institutions of the region work closely together, which has developed Oulu into a hub for world-class research and product development. The development of new products is agile in the intersection of several different sectors, such as information and communications, nanotechnology, cleantech, life science, and creative industries.

Demola Oulu serves a wide research and educational community consisting of the universities of the region. University of Oulu has around 16 000 students and ten faculties. It is one of the biggest and the most multidisciplinary universities in Finland. Likewise, Oulu University of Applied Sciences is one of the largest universities of applied sciences in Finland. It has six schools, which serve approximately 8 000 students. Both of the universities are in close cooperation with the public sector, research institutes, and corporate life. The joint research, development, and innovation activities have created an important innovation center in the Oulu region.

Contact

Demola Oulu

Torikatu 23
90100 Oulu

oulu.demola.net

People

Pekka Silvén

Head of Demola Oulu
pekka.silven@oamk.fi
+358 50 5909682

Simo Kekäläinen

Demola Facilitator
simo.kekalainen@demola.net
+358 50 3077 067

Demola Network

Click below to learn more about the Demola Network and how we work on a global level:

www.demola.net

Please contact us in any international matters, such as partnerships or opening new Demola Centers.

Ville Kairamo

Demola Network
CEO

ville@demola.net
+358 40 566 7182

Jarmo Tuominiemi

Demola Network
VP

jarmo@demola.net
+358 40 823 5392

Janne Eskola

Demola Network
Director, corporate partnerships

janne@demola.net
+358 40 661 9940

Jere Wessman

Demola Network
Service Experience Lead

jere@demola.net
+358 40 631 4029

Bernard Garvey

Demola Network
Manager, operations

bernard@demola.net
+358 40 823 5376

Karelle Bélanger

Demola Network
Facilitator, communications (on maternity leave)

karelle@demola.net
+358 44 924 8757

Joonas Kemppainen

Demola Network
Digitalization Wizard

joonas@demola.net
+358 50 529 1845

Jarkko Moilanen

Demola Network
Evangelist

jarkko.moilanen@demola.net
+358 40 535 9066